You are here

Board of Education Members


The Worcester County Board of Education is comprised of seven members who are elected (by district) by the voters of Worcester County. The term of office is four years. In addition, the Board has three non-voting student members who represent each high school. Board members elect a president and vice president from among the membership.

Jonathan C. Cook, President (District 5)
J. Douglas Dryden, Vice President (District 1)
Barry Q. Brittingham, Sr. (District 2)
Eric W. Cropper, Sr. (District 6)
William L. Gordy (District 4)
Robert A. Rothermel, Jr.(District 7)
Sara D. Thompson (District 3)

Dr. Jerry Wilson, Superintendent of Schools
Louis H. Taylor, Chief Operating Officer
Dr. John Quinn, Chief Academic Officer
James W. Almand, Board Attorney
Barbara Phillips, Administrative Assistant

Student Representatives

The Board of Education is an advocate of students and recognizes the importance of the student perspective. Three students representing each full-service high school are selected by their school's Student Government Association and/or the school's administrative team to serve their senior year as the Student Representative to the Board of Education. Student Representatives attend monthly meetings and provide input on instructional and administrative issues.

Tyler Nixon, Pocomoke High School
Shannon Mowbray, Snow Hill High School
William Rothermel, Stephen Decatur High School