You are here

Senior Recognition Program


A Three-Tiered Senior Recognition Program will be based on the cumulative, weighted grade point average in English, Mathematics, Social Studies, Science, and World Language, including all Advanced Placement/college level courses in Worcester County Public Schools' academic programs. The tier for which a senior may qualify will be determined at the end of the third marking period.

The honor tiers are as follows:

  • Summa Cum Laude: 5.05 GPA and above
  • Magna Cum Laude: 4.90 to 5.04 GPA
  • Cum Laude: 4.80 to 4.89 GPA

GPA calculations will be carried out to three decimals (or thousandths) and rounded to two decimals (or hundredths). For example, a GPA of 5.045 will be rounded to 5.05.

If a senior qualifies for one of the honor tiers, the designation will be noted on the student's transcript.